-My Thoughts On Kingdom Hearts, Birth By Sleep- -(Thoughts/Review)-

Before I go on talking about Kingdom Hearts, Birth By Sleep; I did not play the game, I watched the cutscenes for KH BBS on youtube (I know it sounds weird, but I don’t have time or the money to go buy the game for my self and actually play it to understand KH’s story). 

Kingdom Hearts, Birth By Sleep is definitely something. The main thing that symbolizes KH BBS is the “Light” and “Darkness”, as both lingers around the whole universe, filled with unconnected worlds. (I’m pretty sure every KH series symbolizes those, but yeah).

Kairi’s Grandma: Long ago, people lived in peace, bathed in the warmth of light. Everyone loved the light. Then people began to fight over it. They wanted to keep it for themselves. And darkness was born in their hearts. The darkness spread, swallowing the light and many people’s hearts. It covered everything, and the world disappeared. But small fragments of light survived, in the hearts of children. With these fragments of light, children rebuilt the lost world. It’s the world we live in now. But the true light sleeps, deep within the darkness. That’s why the worlds are still scattered, divided from each other. But someday, a door to the innermost darkness will open, and the true light will return. So, listen, child. Even in the deepest darkness, there will always be a light to guide you. Believe in the light, and the darkness will never defeat you. Your heart will shine with its power and push the darkness.”

The Plot:

This story takes place in the world “The Land Of Departure”, with the perspective of your three main characters; Aqua, Terra, and Ventus. These trio of Keyblade wielders share a dream; to be a Keyblade master (Mainly Terra and Aqua in the beginning of the story, and later Ventus). After Aqua and Terra take the master exams to become Keyblade masters, Terra fails the exam and was told of his failure for using the darkness in his battle with Aqua. After the exams, there was a problem with the Keyblade Master Xehanort. He went missing and monsters called the Unversed, were threatening people in different worlds. Yensid and the Keyblade Master Eraqus, sends off Aqua and Terra to go deal with the problem. Later, after Ventus encounters a stranger in a mask waiting in his room; Ventus  was told “you will never see Terra again”. Then, Ventus goes after Terra before he leaves to go find Xehanort. With Terra already leaving, and Ventus using his Keyblade hoverboard to go find Terra in different worlds; Keyblade Master Eraqus tells Aqua to bring Ventus back and to look over Terra.

And that’s how it starts, so enough of the plot.

Thoughts about Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep;

(this whole section will be filled with spoilers), I really must say that, I liked most of the cutscenes from Birth By Sleep. Like for example, when Ventus encounters some of the members from Organization 13 (but in human form, not as nobody’), Terra encounters Riku and gives him his Keyblade (to later wield in the future if Terra ever dies; probably), and when Aqua encounters Kairi ( does anyone else think that Sora, Riku, and Kairi’s voices sound cute or is it just me)? Of course, some things made a lot more sense to me after watching KH BBS ( but I mainly understood it a bit more after watching a video called “Kingdom Hearts story in 20 minutes”. Because I don’t want to watch KH1). I also enjoyed the sound tracks in KH BBS; most of them were just a big master piece as some were very iconic. Not to mention that Dearly Beloved song (you can never have a horrible Dearly Beloved Song). In General, I liked Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep, mainly because of the Ost’s, Characters, and story.

When I see the three main characters Aqua, Terra, and Ven, I really thought they were interesting (as each character is quite different when it comes to personality, motives, and fighting styles). When I think about Aqua all I think is, she’s like a mother for Ven and when I think about Terra, he’s kind of like an abandoned Father to Ventus (and do I ship Aqua and Terra? Yes. Why? Cause Fandom). Aqua wants to fight in light and Terra wants to fight for the light too; I think? (Because Terra does fight in the darkness allot more than he has using the light). Then theirs Ventus, who just wants to be with his friends and fight the darkness. Aqua uses I guess a magic like fighting style. Terra uses a melee type style. And Ventus uses his own unique fighting style. If I could choose which’s my favorite character throughout the Series of Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep; I would probably have to choose Aqua (Ventus second and Terra last).

What did I think of the story?

I thought the story was kind of cheerful, sad, and even funny; even though it wasn’t intended to be funny.

tumblr_myn7fp5z281rt3yito1_500

???????????????????????????????????

Yep, best burn ever in KH history. There are some fun scenes like, when Ventus fights Lea (which is obviously Axel), and then laughs with a “Draw” or even some awesome quotes from so many characters (Like Kairi’s Grandmother’s quote). Most of the things that Terra says is literally a good quote (anyone else disagrees)?

“You have to be strong. Strength of heart will carry you through the hardest of trials.”

“I’m not afraid of what the darkness holds now. Even if you do wrest control of my heart from me, even if you cast me in the deepest, darkest abyss, you’ll never sway me from the one cause that pushes me to keep on fighting. Whatever the cost, I’m ready to pay it.”

-Terra

Once again, after watching BBS, I understand that Roxas and Axel actually met before they were Nobody’s (Ventus and Lea by the way :D. If only Xion was real). I really thought the three main characters really fitted the franchise and that’s why I mostly liked the story. The worlds that they went to weren’t so boring (Like for example, Kh I and KH II, the sea world with Ariel; it was beyond boredom for me). The scenes were pretty good in most worlds, and mainly the best scenes in my opinion came from Radiant Garden, or in the Keyblade Graveyard. Some scenes that came from the 7 dwarfs and Cinderella were also some of my favorite scenes too, but mainly the two I just mentioned. The story over all was good; I enjoyed it.

 

Want to feel nostalgic? Watch this video:

Or listen to this and feel nostalgic:

KH BBS OST’s:

 

After I played Kingdom hearts II maybe a couple of months ago in over 3 or 4 years, I’m now addicted to the Kingdom Hearts Franchise. Also to mention that Kingdom Hearts 3 has been confirmed and Kingdom Hearts 2.8 and Birth By Sleep 0.2 was confirmed as well. I’m really exited for KH 2.8 to come out (even though I can’t buy the game and mainly for Birth By Sleep 0.2), so see you guys later, peace!

Leave a Reply

